Looking at Humidity and Heat

The dog days of summer arrive
Panting we try to survive
It only gets hotter
With cool drinks of water
Our flagging spirits revive

I really don’t enjoy the limerick. This one however just kind of birthed itself from my brain. It happened and I couldn’t stop it and yes, it was unpleasant. Such is life. I am trying to stay cool both literally and figuratively. August is the month that prepares us Northern Indiana residents for winter. It is so humid and miserable that we have emotional spasms and blurt out heretical words “I wish it was winter”. This causes us to immediately clap a hand over our mouths and mutter phrases such as “I didn’t mean it!” and “I’m sorry! I love summer!” But it is too late. In retribution August gives us the heat treatment. We have temperatures that hover in the 90s with humidity reaching 90% but it doesn’t rain often. When it does rain it isn’t a cool rain. No, it is tepid rain that fails to refresh. It is the same as that first drink from the garden hose that is the water that has been boiled in the sun. By the end of the month we are ready for the gradual slide into winter.

17 thoughts on “Looking at Humidity and Heat

  1. Love your limerick, even as it’s not your favorite form! We are beginning to experience the same high heat/humidity combination in normally dry Southern California — it’s tough to endure!

    Like

    1. Today was absolutely pleasant – just after posting. The sun was hot but we had a cold front move through spawning lots of cold rain and cooling things off for a 79 degree day with a good cool breeze. If only it could be like this every day!!

      Like

      1. Wow — I really envy you a 79 degree day. It has to have been 95 here, and 95% humidity. I did laundry in the garage, then walked indoors and froze until my temp equalized (at 83 degrees)!

        Like

      2. The radio was talking about the heat wave in the pacific northwest – urging people to go to cooling stations since so many don’t have AC in Oregon and Washington… Hope you are staying cool!

        Like

      3. Tuesday was bad, and yesterday was awful — I did laundry in the garage, then came indoors where it was air conditioned — the cold air made me feel like a popsicle! Today I went to San Diego to an event down there — it was 10 degrees cooler than here, and I was indoors all day, either in the car or in a ballroom, so stayed comfortable till I got home and began moving around! It is better today than yesterday, and the heat is supposed to have broken today — my fingers are crossed!

        Like

    1. We had such miserable weather – unrelenting sticky heat. Then today it rained and was beautiful. I’m hoping we don’t have triple digits this summer. We did that a couple years ago and our electric bill was astronomical!

      Like

  2. The only time I wished for winter since moving to Michigan, was last year after a brutal summer and fall of road trips. I was so exhausted I fantasized about being snowed in and not having to drive anywhere. Most of the time, I put up with the hot summer weather, look forward to cooler autumn days, and dread winter.

    Like

    1. Hehe~ Yeah the fall weather is nearly perfect if the rain holds off. Nothing better than a walk in the woods with the sun shining and the air crisp looking for some geocaches! It is usually only unbearable for 2 weeks in the summer but this has not been borne out this year or last… Hoping the fall is longer and winter is shorter this time around!

      Like

  3. Here is the month that I would invite you to the mountains of northern Arizona, with majestic storms, that bring cool rain. All are visible from the comfort of a perfectly fine resort room. Our mornings, during August and September, are crisp and clean.

    Like

    1. My in-laws refuse to return to AZ until late October/early November because Phoenix is still too hot for them. I suppose it is better in the mountains. I’ll make a note that we return to AZ in Aug/Sept for some mountain geocaching!

      Like

  4. Nice post honey. I enjoy limericks and yours was very very good. It’s been hot and rainy here today and was kind of gloomy at the Hospice Center. However, one of our favorite patients had a good day although he is nearing the end. His son and daughter-in-law from Belize flew in and arrived in time. I’m not sure how long he will last, but he is such a sweet person so stoic and never complaining. He reminds me a lot of your dad and not just because he’s Jewish.

    Like

    1. Hope your weather is bearable – we had more rain today and then the sun came out. You could see the steam rising from the street! Its Indiana so yesterday was cool and today was hot and steamy. Tomorrow the temps are supposed to be a high of 65! And thunderstorms too… Good that you are able to help out at Hospice. I’m sure you make a difference!

      Like

    1. Thanks! The limerick is just barely more fun to write than a sestina. My sister lives just north of Atlanta in Norcross and I’ve been there several times in the “winter” We were wearing summer clothes while everyone else was bundled! It felt like a heat wave at 60 degrees coming from a -20 snow encrusted land… Glad I could amuse!

      Like

  5. I understand the toil heart and humidity take. I’m not a hot weather person. Fall is my favorite. We had a cold front with rain last night and today is much nicer 😊. I see in the comments you had a break from the heat! I hope it lasts for a bit! Good limerick. Peace to you

    Like

    1. Thanks for the kind words for the limerick! It was absolutely cold today – felt more like October than August. The high was 63 and that was this morning. The thermometer has dropped steadily all day it is 52 right now with a bone chilling rain falling. Hope your weather stays mild too.

      Like

Leave a Reply

