Looking Sneaky

The comparison of a sly and sneaky person up to no good to a snake, especially one in the grass, never made sense to me. I personally like snakes. They are fascinating in the way they move, how they eat, and even their camouflage. The snake has been carrying around a reputation as evil incarnate and the great tempter. The snake is implicated, tried, and convicted of causing the exile from Eden. I mean, even the Bible gets in on the snake bashing, “Cursed are you above all livestock and all wild animals! You will crawl on your belly and you will eat dust all the days of your life. And I will put enmity between you and the woman, and between your offspring and hers; he will crush your head, and you will strike his heel.” (Genesis 3:14-15).

As you know I’ve been dealing with my own pit of vipers. Right now the pit has been emptied and sanitized. There are no more snakes identified in my work environment. But snakes are a sneaky lot. Currently there are two employees in close contact with former management. I am looking for any slithering since snakes like to return – no matter how inhospitable the lair.

While visiting the local botanical garden and nature preserve, I happened upon this fellow. He was at least 3 feet long and had a pretty substantial girth for a garter snake!

       

I was able to get a couple photos before the snake decided to move on, no doubt in search for a midday snack. Indiana only has a few venomous snakes: the Copperhead which is only found in the southern third of the state, the Cottonmouth which is on the State Endangered List and only found in one small area in southwestern Indiana, and the Eastern Massasauga Rattlesnake again it is on the State Endangered List and is a Federal Candidate for am endangered and protected species. It is located in the northern third of Indiana which is in my area! I have never seen one alive!! Even with the poking around in the woods there hasn’t been any trace. I only wish the other kind of viper was as shy and and rare!

19 thoughts on “Looking Sneaky

    1. Hehe! Mosquitoes are valuable food for bats and birds and frogs and the larvae are eaten by the fishes!! So yes everything has a purpose – not that I like my part in the food chain (as a protein source)… The sphere of influence that once was grows smaller daily.

      Like

    1. I’ve had my guard up and I’m vigilant. It would be wonderful if all the negativity could disappear like fog in the sunshine. Sadly that is not how it works. It is like trying to get rid of spilled glitter!

      Like

      1. But even that spilled glitter gradually fades away, and there might be one or two specks left, but not enough to have any influence! I hope that will happen quickly!

        Like

      2. Oh, dear — but I’m sure the snakes will be lurking for a month or so — then they’ll all find other things to worry about, and that will taper off! I hope the glitter doesn’t get too sparkly!

        Like

    1. I didn’t remove them – that was partly the reorganization giving them a choice and they removed themselves by opting to leave. As we settle into out new positions there will be some confusion but this too shall pass.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I’m glad things have been cleared up at work. It is unpredictable what effect it could have certain employees being in contact with former management. Hopefully no effect!

    I confess I’m not a fan of snakes even though many are harmless – and even beneficial. We seem to have no shortage of snakes here. I’ll have to check if any are endangered. Wishing you continued peace at work!

    Like

    1. We are working to find a new normal. As for snakes, I would never harm one but then again I’d never want to have one in captivity. They are generally more than willing to give people a wide berth!

      Like

Leave a Reply

